Chez Jules

November 4, 2007 at 8:05 pm 5 comments

Chez Jules

Vegan food? In a French restaurant?

The French don’t even know what vegetarian means, never mind vegan!”

However Chez Jules seems to be clued-up; on the menu is a starter of Melon and Mango Salad with Basil and Pomegranate Dressing, and a main course of Roasted Mediterranean Vegetables Couscous with Cherry Tomato, Grilled Asparagus, Basil and Tomato Sauce. Both of these items are on the 2 Course Set Dinner for £10.00 offer, which is in effect from 5pm till 7.30pm.

I haven’t actually eaten there so I don’t know if it’s vegan or not. You can always ask – the only non-vegan thing that would be in there is butter, I’m sure. So ask first.

Accompaniments include a vegetable selection, salad, bread and olives. I’m sure they’ll do their garlic bread with oil instead of butter.

Location: 5a Ethel Street (off New Street). Open Monday – Saturday; Lunch 12pm-4pm; Dinner 5pm-11pm.

Entry filed under: eat-in. Tags: .

Lasan Restaurant

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jezhiggins  |  November 5, 2007 at 9:12 am

    Fruit for starters and cous cous with roast vegetables for main course? Hardly pushing the boundaries of, well, anything, is it?

    Reply
  • 2. Messenger of Doom  |  November 5, 2007 at 11:56 am

    God, some people are never happy are they.

    The fact is that you could get vegan food there if you went there for any reason. If you don’t have to turn your friends down when they ask if you want to come for a meal with them, then who cares if the food isn’t pushing boundaries?

    Reply
  • 3. jezhiggins  |  November 5, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    You’re the one called messenger of doom :)

    Why should I be happy? It’s lazy.

    Ok, it means I wouldn’t have to necessarily refuse an invitation and I like cous-cous (I’m cooking some this evening as it happens), but this kind of thing just screams of half-arsed-ness. It’s the catch-all menu item for dieters/lactose-intolerants/vegetarian/diabetics/etc/etc/etc, and it’s had no thought put into it. It’s a restaurant – show me something I wouldn’t cook at home.

    Reply
  • 4. Messenger of Doom  |  November 5, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    Well, of course, I agree, it is lazy and uninventive.

    And (on the normal menu) it costs £9.

    I wouldn’t be happy paying that much for something I could cook myself at home.

    Especially because I cook myself a more creative dinner than that on an average weekday.

    But it’s better than nothing, I suppose.

    Reply
  • 5. Phil  |  March 25, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    I have eaten Vegan there on friends birthdays and other functions without much of a problem, however I found it best to really clarify exactly what you don’t eat, as the first time I went the waitress came back and asked me if I eat egg or fish. So was a little worried.

    I found them to be accomodating, I wasn’t overly impressed with the food, but then I wasn’t expecting to be, I was there to support my friends more than anything.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Vegan Brum

Where in Birmingham city centre can you find good food without meat, milk, eggs or cheese? It might seem difficult to find vegan food, but if you know where to look it's not so hard. We're here to help point you in the right direction.

Feeds


