Warehouse Cafe

October 22, 2007 at 5:18 pm Leave a comment

Warehouse Cafe

In my minimum-wage-influenced opinion The Warehouse is a bit expensive (for me), and although the food is quality, as a very physically active person in need of extra calories I have to say that the portion sizes are too small for my hungry belly. I once left there hungrier than I was when I came in!

Another time, I ordered sausage and mash, the menu didn’t say the sausages contained nuts (which I’m allergic to). I was just about to tuck into these sausages when something at the back of my mind told me to check just in case. It turned out that they contained nuts. I was quite disappointed, because the menu normally shows quite clearly which items contain nuts. That reminded me it is important to always ask, because no matter what restaurant you are in, mistakes are sometimes made!

Anyway – they quickly replaced my sausages with a leek & potato pie, no problem.

Other than that the Warehouse is a very nice, homely, cosy place to eat. The waiting staff are very nice and well-mannered. The food is organic where possible and I think it’s locally produced too. And, as you’d expect, there is plenty of vegan food on their impressive menu (click here).

They had a really nice colcannon and Irish stew going on on St. Patricks day – lovely stuff. They have regular themed nights such as a ‘Mexican feast’ evening, a meal for Summer Solstice, a World Vegan day event, wine tasting and so on. And they’ve a special Christmas menu, for which you must pre-book.

The wooden tables, chairs and floor give it a natural feel, and in addition the surroundings are made comfortable and pleasant by flowers, candles and photographs displayed on the wall.

They’re open Monday-Saturday 10am til 11pm and Sunday 10am til 6pm. 54-57 Allison Street, Digbeth.

Entry filed under: eat-in. Tags: , , , .

Cafe Soya Mr Bumbles?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Vegan Brum

Where in Birmingham city centre can you find good food without meat, milk, eggs or cheese? It might seem difficult to find vegan food, but if you know where to look it's not so hard. We're here to help point you in the right direction.

Feeds


